Sign In | Create an Account | Welcome, . My Account | Logout | Subscribe | Submit News | All Access E-Edition | Home RSS

Shepard scores victory in sprint car race

April 7, 2008
By CRAIG RUTHERFORD, Sentinel correspondent
    PORT ROYAL — Jeff Shepard, Scotty Haus, Tim Krape and Jen Powell won feature races Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway.

    Shepard outran Todd Shaffer in sprint car action. Haus came out on top of late model racing after an exciting duel with Dan Stone and Tim Wilson. Krape scored his second straight Pro Stock victory and Powell took the first step toward defending her track title by winning the Powder Puff event.

    Shepard grabbed the lead on lap two and Shaffer followed. The pair encountered lapped traffic by lap four. Shepard understands lapped cars are part of racing.

    “I was 16 years old and out there making laps,” he said. “You have to do that to get good. I probably messed up some guys but you have to make laps. Once they do that they’ll get better.”

    Track conditions were improved over last week but still have a way to go before reaching normal standards.

    “It’s spring, cool and soft,” Shepard said. “Once the clay mixes together this track’s going to be good. It’s fast. You have to be in shape. Some of the guys get tired because you are getting thrown around right now.”

    The race was under yellow two times, once on lap 16 for a stalled racecar and once on lap 24 when Bill Brian Jr. had suspension problems exiting turn two. Shepard and Shaffer were followed to the checkered flag by Mark Smith, Mike Erdley and Greg Hodnett. Sixth through 10th were Keith Kauffman, Mike Wagner, Todd Hestor, Alan Cole and Cliff Brian. Heat races for the 22-car field were won by Hodnett and Erdley. Todd Shaffer appeared to have the second heat race won until his car slowed coming to the checkered flag with Erdley the winner.

    Scotty Haus, Dan Stone and Tim Wilson hooked up for an exciting battle through lapped traffic in late model action. The trio raced each other hard during the first 12 laps of their feature event. Haus came out on top after Stone and Wilson suffered mechanical problems and dropped out. Nick Dickson finished second with Matt Parks third. Waylon Wagner and Scott Flickinger completed the top five. Rounding out the top 10 were Bob Dunn, Randy Burkholder, Mitch Hack, Tim Gray and Bud Barton. Heat races were won by Parks and Dunn.

    Haus said he was thankful for the win.

    “We were lucky tonight,” he said. “Stoney and Wilson were right there and it was our night.”

    Tim Krape won the 15-lap pro stock feature for the second week in a row. Terry Naugle finished second with Derick Garman third. Jess Trometter was fourth and Dan Berry was fifth. Sixth through 10th were Jim Palm, John Heane, Cliff Peffer, Jim Somers and Devin Frey.

    Jen Powell closed out the night by winning the 10-lap Powder Puff feature. Teresa Kepner was second. Heidi Kauffman, Amanda Dalton and Julie Colyer were in the top five. The remainder of the field included Carmen Palm, Rhonda Hutchinson, Elizabeth Guyer and Tammy Speece.

    Action continues Saturday when the sprint cars are joined by late models and pro stocks. Gates open at 5 p.m. with racing at 7 p.m.

Selinsgrove Speedway

    SELINSGROVE — Former two-time 358 sprint car track champion Blane Heimbach returned to winning form with a convincing victory in Saturday night’s 25-lap main event at Selinsgrove Speedway.

    Heimbach, who was sidelined last August with a broken leg suffered in a racing accident at Williams Grove Speedway, stormed to the win in Saturday’s race following a lap five pass by Kyle Bachman.

    The victory marked the 22nd of Heimbach’s career and car owner Jeff Creasy’s 200th career win in open-wheel racing over a span of 25 years.

    Steve Campbell inherited the lead from Sunbury’s Tony Adams on lap 17 and drove to his first victory at Selinsgrove in nearly 10 years in the 25-lap late model season opener. The victory marked the 41st of Campbell’s career as a late model driver at the Snyder County oval.

    Chad Davis won his first career pro stock race in the division’s 15-lap main event, while Keith Bissinger won his second straight 12-lap roadrunner feature.

    Selinsgrove Speedway will present a four-division racing program of 358 sprint cars, late models, pro stocks and roadrunners at 6 p.m. Saturday.

Lincoln Speedway

    ABBOTTSTOWN — Two of the best sprint car drivers in the history of Central Pennsylvania racing locked horns over the last lap of the 410 sprint car feature at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

    All-time Lincoln winner Fred Rahmer pulled a slider on leader Stevie Smith exiting turn four of the final lap. Smith calmly let the defending champ slide by, then drove to the inside off turn four and edged Rahmer at the line for his 21st career win in the Pigeon Hills. The final margin of victory was .099 seconds.

    Gene Knaub opened the 358 late model season at Lincoln by passing Jake Lettick on the seventh for the lead and then overpowered the field the rest of the way in winning the 20-lap Pigeon Hills opener.

    Mike Enders’ victory in the 25-lap super sportsman feature was his first in that division.

    All three regular point divisions (410 sprints, 358 sprints and thundercars) will be in action Saturday. Gates open at 4 p.m., with hot laps at 5:30 p.m.

Article Photos

Sentinel photo by TIM?SHUMAKER
Jeff Shepard, center, stands in victory lane after winning the sprint car race Saturday night at Port Royal Speedway.



I am looking for:
News, Blogs & Events Web